Pink Poogle Toy Forum

The official community of Pink Poogle Toy
Main Site
NeoDex
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 6:35 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: About Activex
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:39 am 
PPT Trainee
PPT Trainee
User avatar

Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 12:49 pm
I know that it's not allowed to browse the neopets site if you have the ActiveX plugin enabled. The thing is, I'm not incredibly tech savy and I often log on from a friend's computer. I was wondering, how do you check if a computer has ActiveX installed, and how do you disable and enable it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:35 pm 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 2834
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 4:32 pm
Location: Far, far away
Yvonne, you might want to post this in the Computer & Technology section. Someone who hangs out on that part of the site might be able to help you.


Image
Tested made this fabulous set for me!!! Isn't it great?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:43 pm 
Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:40 am
Gender: Male
Looks like it has been moved.

Anyway, do you use IE or Firefox or another browser?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: About Activex
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 11:07 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Posts: 1140
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 1:36 pm
yvonne_l_d wrote:
I know that it's not allowed to browse the neopets site if you have the ActiveX plugin enabled.


That part is basically false and everything that comes after can safely be ignored.


Image
Will you stop with the honour stuff?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 1:29 am 
PPT Trainee
PPT Trainee
User avatar

Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 12:49 pm
siouxper wrote:
Looks like it has been moved.

Anyway, do you use IE or Firefox or another browser?


I use both, although I favor IE slightly.

Hunter Lupe wrote:
yvonne_l_d wrote:
I know that it's not allowed to browse the neopets site if you have the ActiveX plugin enabled.


That part is basically false and everything that comes after can safely be ignored.

huh? I'm just repeating what was stated in the third question of this editorial:
http://www.neopets.com/ntimes/index.pht ... &issue=277


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 10:50 am 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 4460
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Essex, UK "'"Set by WIS"'"
yvonne_l_d wrote:
Hunter Lupe wrote:
yvonne_l_d wrote:
I know that it's not allowed to browse the neopets site if you have the ActiveX plugin enabled.


That part is basically false and everything that comes after can safely be ignored.

huh? I'm just repeating what was stated in the third question of this editorial:
http://www.neopets.com/ntimes/index.pht ... &issue=277


I think the thing which isn't allowed, is a specific activex plugin that refreshes your page. As long as you aren't using activex for refreshing, it's ok.


ImageImage

Boom-shaka-laka! Rawr come and join us in the Randomness
Sig Halloween'd by Tom!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 2:11 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Posts: 1140
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 1:36 pm
yvonne_I_d wrote:
huh? I'm just repeating what was stated in the third question of this editorial:
http://www.neopets.com/ntimes/index.pht ... &issue=277

You aren't repeating it verbatim, so it lost some meaning in the process. As ActiveX isn't any single plug-in, but rather an IE-specific application embedding technology, there's quite a difference in what you said and what they said. Adobe Flash Player for IE, for example, is an ActiveX plug-in; outlawing ActiveX (and by proxy Flash) would severely cripple the neopets website.

As long as you aren't using a program to refresh a page, the whole thing doesn't really matter. :)


Image
Will you stop with the honour stuff?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 3:54 am 
PPT Trainee
PPT Trainee
User avatar

Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 12:49 pm
Okay, thanks for explaining.

The reason I was concerned was because the person who owns this computer uses a program to download stock market information from the net. I wasn't sure if that would influence refreshing the browser or not. Although, after thinking about it, I realise that such a program shouldn't affect browsing in any way.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group